I’ve always believed in good karma so why not help others, right? If you’re running your own business, especially when it comes to creating content, I will be publishing advice to help every step of the journey. I’ll start with the basics to cover all aspects of being a content creator. However, today I’m going to share how much you should be paid as an influencer. Why? Well to be honest no one talks about this subject, it’s crazy as we all should be paid for our hard work. Just call me your online fairy godmother! I wish someone helped me with this very subject a few years back, but to be honest influencer marketing has only just evolved alongside the rise of social media such as YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, so it’s all new as is the role of the influencer. When it comes to leasing with brands. The following information will help you create a media kit along with your rates/packages – I will cover this subject another day! Geez, we’re going to be busy!!
Someone who affects or changes the way that people behave / a person who has the power to influence many people, as through social media or traditional media
A campaign can cost anything from £50-£4,000 for a featured blog post. This is calculated by how many unique visitors your receive per month and your domain authority. If you are unsure how to find this information, you can discover unique visitors via google analytics and domain authority via moz which calculates your search engine ranking score. Some bloggers add their time and photography fees on top of this, I personally just add my photographers rates. Another fact to consider when calculating rates is social media exposure (I will cover Instagram separately), imagery rights and exclusivity. For example, if a blogger has 5,000 unique visitors per month and a DA of 15-25 without any add-on’s they should be paid anything between £50-£200. Or if a blogger has 50,000 unique visitors per month with a DA of 50+ you would expect them to be paid anything between £3,000-£4,000. I’ve created a graph to explain this in detail.
To calculate Instagram rates it’s actually simple once you know how. A micro influencer (someone with less than 100,000 followers who are highly engaged) will charge £5 per CPM. This stands for Cost Per Mille, that’s 1,000 people, aka impressions. So for example, an influencer with 50,000 followers will charge £250 per Instagram post; 50,000 ÷ 1,000 = 50. 50 x £5 = £250.
On a side note I’d like to thank Awin, DF London & Whalar for advising me these past few years, and with their help curating the above rates.
If you have any advice on how to calculate your rates please feel free to share below, I’d love to know your thoughts?